Collin County Criminal District Attorney Website
Greg Willis, Criminal District Attorney of Collin Countyemail this page print this page increase font size decrease font size home

Grand Jury Section

The Grand Jury Section of the Grand Jury/Intake Division is responsible for the preparation and presentation of all felony cases to the grand jury.  These personnel work closely with the district courts as each new grand jury is impaneled and then provides an orientation program.

This Section is responsible for the scheduling of cases, the summoning of witnesses to testify before the grand jury, and the questioning of witnesses before the grand jury.  This Section prepares the indictments for presentation to the grand jury.  At the conclusion of each session, an official grand jury report is prepared to reflect the actions taken by the grand jury on that day.

This Section is responsible for preparing the subpoenas the grand jury will issue commanding the presence of witnesses or requiring the production of documents and other material for use in grand jury investigations.  Chief felony prosecutors assigned to the Grand Jury Section are available to all law enforcement agencies in the investigative stage of a criminal case to provide legal assistance.

The Grand Jury Section is comprised of four chief felony prosecutors, one felony prosecutor, four grand jury secretaries, and the combined resources of the Investigations Division and Intake Section staff.  All chief felony prosecutors, as well as the First and Second Assistant District Attorneys, present cases to Collin County grand juries.

Gail Falco Leyko, Chief of the Grand Jury/Intake Division, graduated with honors from Texas A&M University in 1990 with a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science.  She received her law degree from Baylor University in 1993.  Ms. Leyko started her career with the Collin County Criminal District Attorney’s Office in 1993 and has served as a misdemeanor prosecutor, felony prosecutor, and chief felony prosecutor.

Gail Falco Leyko - Ext. 4352;

Judy Neil completed her undergraduate education at the University of Texas at Dallas and obtained her Juris Doctorate from Southern Methodist University.  She has been employed by the Collin County Criminal District Attorney’s Office since 1983.  Ms. Neil has served as a chief felony prosecutor, chief of the Family Justice Division, and chief of the Grand Jury/Intake Division.  She retired from full-time prosecution in 2006 and returned as a part-time prosecutor in 2007.

Pat Acosta is a twenty-five-year employee of the Collin County Criminal District Attorney’s Office and is a Board Certified Legal Assistant in Criminal Law with the Texas Board of Legal Specialization.  Ms. Acosta has served as a receptionist and a felony trial secretary, and for the past eighteen years she has served as a grand jury secretary.

Tracie Tidwell has worked in the Collin County Criminal District Attorney’s office since June 1996 and is currently a grand jury secretary.  Ms. Tidwell has previously served as a secretary in both the Misdemeanor Trial Division and the Felony Trial Division.

Kathy Schroeder


large font print page email page