The Collin County Criminal District Attorney’s office includes a specialized division devoted exclusively to the prosecution of cases involving the sexual and physical abuse of children.  The felony prosecutors, investigators, and support staff assigned to this Division have extensive training and experience in the preparation and trial of cases involving crimes against children.

These prosecutors and staff understand the potential emotional and psychological effects on victims and their families resulting from the abuse itself, as well as from the judicial process. Therefore, every effort is made to minimize further trauma while obtaining justice in each case. In order to help children and their families feel more comfortable, prosecutors meet with each child and his or her family prior to the presentation of the case to the grand jury.  During this meeting, the prosecutor can explain the judicial process, in age-appropriate terms if necessary, and answer questions.  Contact between the prosecutor and victim will continue after a case is indicted and assigned to a district court in order to update the victim and family of any plea negotiations and to prepare for trial, if necessary.

The Collin County Criminal District Attorney partners with the Children’s Advocacy Center of Collin County (CACCC) (www.caccollincounty.org).  The CACCC uses a multi-disciplinary approach involving law enforcement and the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services in the criminal and civil investigation of child abuse.  Prosecutors, investigators, and support staff in the Criminal District Attorney’s office work with the members of the multi-disciplinary team, which includes law enforcement officers who investigate the cases, professionals who interview the children, medical personnel and therapists who treat the victims, and the victims’ families.  This approach provides an effective method to provide safety, healing, and justice to those children who have been victimized by abuse and neglect.

Crystal Levonius, Chief of the Crimes Against Children Division, graduated in 1995 with a Bachelor of Arts in Government from New Mexico State University.  She earned her Juris Doctorate in two years from Southwestern University School of Law in 1999 as part of the University’s SCALE program.  While a law student, she was a member of the Trial Advocacy Honors Program and interned in the Crimes Against Peace Officer’s Section of the Los Angeles County District Attorney’s Office. Upon completion of law school, she passed bar exams in Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona. After graduating, Ms. Levonius worked as a civil attorney.  Since joining the Office in April 2004, Ms. Levonius has served in the Misdemeanor Trial Division as a court chief and as a trial prosecutor in the Felony Trial Division.

Crystal Levonius, Chief Felony Prosecutor – Ext. 3659; clevonius@collincountytx.gov

Shannon Miller, Felony Prosecutor – Ext. 4309; samiller@collincountytx.gov

Geeta Singletary, Felony Prosecutor – Ext. 3609; gsingletary@collincountytx.gov

Ashley Keil, Felony Prosecutor – Ext. 3643; akeil@collincountytx.gov

Brandon Wonnacott, Felony Prosecutor – Ext. 4475; bwonnacott@collincountytx.gov

Abigail Policastro, Felony Prosecutor – Ext. 3612; apolicastro@collincountytx.gov

Greg Bowers, Felony Investigator – Ext. 3635; gbowers@collincountytx.gov

Kim Voigt-Eanes, Felony Investigator – Ext. 4344; kvoigt-eanes@collincountytx.gov

Susanne Riggs, Victim Assistance Coordinator – Ext. 3642sriggs@collincountytx.gov

Erin Fontenot, Legal Secretary II – Ext. 4372; efontenot@collincountytx.gov

Shana Turney, Legal Secretary II – Ext. 3637; sturney@collincountytx.gov